Alexandra Palace East Wing Regeneration Project by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios / Lloyd Winters

Leisure projects dominate World Architecture Festival awards shortlist

The shortlist has been revealed for the World Architecture Festival (WAF) 2019 Awards and leisure projects are represented across the majority of the 33 categories – as well as in dedicated categories of their own.

Among the most notable leisure projects in contention for an award are:

  • Alexandra Palace East Wing Regeneration by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Coal Drops Yard by Heatherwick Architects
  • Morpheus Hotel by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • noma by BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group
  • Royal Opera House ‘Open Up’ by Stanton Williams
  • Tottenham Hotspur Stadium by Populous
  • Vessel by Heatherwick Studio

The leisure-focused categories for completed buildings are Culture, Display, Hotel and Leisure, Mixed Use, Shopping and Sport. There are also categories for future projects in Culture, Leisure Led Development and Masterplanning.

There are a number of Special Prize categories and winners across all of the categories will compete for the overall accolades of World Building of the Year, Future Project of the Year, Interior of the Year and Landscape of the Year.

All types and sizes of architectural projects are represented, with small firms competing against some of the best known architects in the world. More than 1,000 entries were received, which were whittled down to 534 from 70 countries on the final shortlist.

Paul Finch, programme director of World Architecture Festival, said: “We have been inspired by the levels of innovation in this year’s entries, that show the incredible range of ways in which architects are responding to the global climate and biodiversity emergencies we face.”

Shortlisted teams will present their projects to international juries in front of festival delegates during the festival, which runs with its sister event, INSIDE World Festival of Interiors, from 4-6 December.

Last year’s overall World Building of the Year winner was Kampung Admiralty, a community-centred mixed-use development in Singapore… click link below to read full article.

Source: CLAD Global

Related posts

Leave a Comment